Connect with us


? Salah wins the FWA Footballer of the Year award



Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah has been named the Football Writers Association Footballer of the Year for 2022. 

Salah has beaten Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne after getting 48% of the votes with the Belgian finishing second and West Ham’s Declan Rice in third. Salah has now won the award twice having previously won the award back in 2018.

Chelsea Women striker Sam Kerr has also claimed the first Women’s Footballer of the Year prize which was open to voting. 

“Both Mo and Sam have been outstanding this season, breaking records for both club and country. As well as their performances on the pitch, they are leaders and standard-bearers of excellence at their clubs and respective leagues,” FWA chair Carrie Brown said.

“The fact they have won by such convincing margins underlines just how impressive they have been this season which has been recognized by our members.”

Salah and Kerr are set to receive their awards at the Footballer of the Year dinner in London on May 5.