Connect with us

National Teams

2023 CAF Awards: Nigeria dominate nominations for women’s category



By Monsurah Olatunji

The preliminary CAF Award 2023 nominees for the women’s categories have been revealed as Nigeria largely dominated the Player of The Year Award category.
No fewer than seven Super Falcons players including record five-time winner, Asisat Oshoala, have been nominated alongside 23 other African stars for their achievements across all competitions for club and country between December 2022 and November 2023.
The nominees were chosen by a renowned panel consisting of CAF Technical Experts, Legends, and a few representatives from the media.
The Super Falcons had a remarkable year having gotten to the round of 16 of the Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand and were very close to qualifying for the quarter-finals before being knocked out of the competition on penalties by England.
Therefore, Asisat Oshoala, Chiamaka Nnadozie, Rasheedat Ajibade, Toni Payne, Christy Ucheibe, Osinachi Ohale, and Uchenna Kanu from the phenomenon World Cup squad have been nominated.
Just as in the men’s category, the best women’s goalkeeper will be rewarded for the first time to celebrate the heroic efforts of the shot-stoppers.
Ten goalkeepers have been nominated for the first-ever CAF Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year award with Nnadozie one of the favourites to win the award.
The Super Falcons’ safe hands was immense for her Paris FC side, as she helped them qualify for the Champions League group stage for the first time ever after saving back-to-back penalties in the qualifying rounds to eliminate last season’s semifinalist Arsenal, and last season’s finalist Wolfsburg.
Nnadozie also saved a penalty at the World Cup against the player with the most international goals be it men or women, Christine Sinclair.
According to the African football governing body, ten nominees each have been penciled in for the Interclub Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, National Team of the Year, and Young Player of the Year, limited to players not more than 21 years old.
Meanwhile, the finalists of the ongoing CAF Women’s Champions League in Ivory Coast have each been rewarded with a place in the Club of the Year category.
On December 11, 2023, in Marrakech, Morocco, the illustrious figures of African football will grace the Awards Gala.

See also  2026 World Cup Qualifier: Zimbabwe defender eye for Super Eagles scalp
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *