Connect with us

National Teams

AFCON 2025 Qualifiers: Super Eagles to know foes on July 4



By Oyediji Oluwaseun Babatunde

Nigeria’s senior men’s national team will get to know their opponents for the 2025 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) Qualifiers when the draws take place on Thursday, July 4, 2024.

The draw for Morocco 2025 AFCON Qualifiers is scheduled for the date in Johannesburg, South Africa as it will be conducted at SuperSport Studios in South Africa.

48 countries including Chad, Eswatini, Liberia, and South Sudan which qualified from the preliminary round will go into the draw of 12 groups comprising four teams.

Holders Cote D’Ivoire as well as Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, DR Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini and Ethiopia have been confirmed for the draw.

Others include Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The qualifiers are scheduled to kick off in September 2024 to determine the first 24 nations that will compete for Africa’s biggest event, the Africa Cup of Nations in Morocco in 2025.

With a lackluster start to their 2026 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers campaign, the Super Eagles will hope to get the 2025 AFCON Qualifiers off to a flying start after a second-place finish to Cote d’Ivoire in the last tournament.