Connect with us

Nigeria Leagues

NWFL Premiership MD4 Reviews: Bayelsa pip Delta as Robo end Remo unbeaten run



By Oluwaseun Oyediji
2022 champions Bayelsa Queens defeated holders Delta Queens 1-0 in the Star Match of Matchday four of the 2023/2024 Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) Premiership in Yenagoa on Wednesday.
A solitary effort from Chinyere Igboamalu ensured the Prosperity Girls claimed their second win of the season and the first leg bragging rights over Tosan Blackson’s side in the South-South derby at the Samson Siasia Stadium.
Earlier in the day, the two early kickoffs ended in a 0-0 draw with no goals to separate Nasarawa Amazons and Abia Angels in Lafia same as the clash between Heartland Queens and Confluence Queens in Owerri.
In Lagos, FC Robo Queens also ended the unbeaten start of debutants, Remo Stars Ladies with a 2-1 victory.
The first South West derby between both sides was a cagey affair after the first half but two goals in three minutes from Nigeria international, Opeyemi Ajakaye and Folashade Ijamilusi gave the Lagos Landladies a two-goal lead.
In their usual fashion of scoring late goals, the Sky Blue Ladies responded with a goal in the 81st minute but it wasn’t enough to prevent their first loss of the campaign.
In Benin City, Edo State secured their third win of the season in four outings with a 3-1 win over debutants, Ekiti Queens at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium.
A hat-trick from Glory Osaghae handed Moses Aduku’s team another win with former Adamawa Queens player, Regina Omede reducing the deficit for the visitors.
The treble saw Osaghae became the first player to score a hat-trick in the NWFL Premiership this season.
In Gombe, Adamawa Queens recorded their first win of the campaign as Mary Moses’s 11th-minute strike sealed a 1-0 victory against Dannaz Ladies.
Royal Queens picked their first point of the season as the team forced Naina Ratels FC to a 1-1 draw in Sapele.
After a barren first half, Eyitemi Omagbemi’s own goal broke the dreadlocks for the visitors before Osas Enoma equalised for Paul Mene’s side.

See also  2022 IASC Unity Cup: First Oil Rush Captain Haliru Momodu Refuses To Throw In The Towel, Adamant Team Has All It Takes To Win The Golden Trophy After 1-1 Draw Against D-Sha
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *