Connect with us

National Teams

2024 WAFCON: Alozie, Onumonu out, Abiodun, Echegini in for Cape Verde duel



By: Monsurah Olatunji

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has released a 21-player list to represent Nigeria in the final qualifying round for the 2024 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) against Cape Verde.
The nine-time champions will host their West African foes in the first leg clash slated for the M.K.O Stadium in Abuja on November 30, with the return leg scheduled to take place in Praia on Tuesday, 5th December.
The Super Falcons stand-in coach, Justin Madugu made the list public on Monday, with notable omissions being Houston Dallas star, Michelle Alozie and Gotham FC star ifeoma Onumonu, while Universities duo of Deborah Abiodun and Jennifer Echegini are back to the squad since World Cup.
Four home-based players have been invited; FC Robo Queens’ Esther Onyenezide, Edo Queens goalkeeper Christiana Obia, Remo Stars defender Akudo Ogbonna, and Bayelsa Queens star Rihanat Kasali.
Barcelona forward Asisat Oshoala will lead the attack, while Atletico Madrid’s Rasheedat Ajibade, Sevilla’s Toni Payne, and Pachuca FC defender Osinachi Ohale will offer the necessary support.
Meanwhile, recently invited strikee Omorinsola Babajide gets a recall to the team.
Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC), Tochukwu Oluehi (Shualat Alsharqia FC, Saudi Arabia), Christiana Obia (Edo Queens).
Defenders: Osinachi Ohale (Pachuca FC, Mexico), Glory Edet (FCF TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Rihanat Kasali (Bayelsa Queens), Oluwatosin Demehin (Stade de Reims, France), Akudo Ogbonna (Remo Stars Ladies), Rofiat Imuran (Stade de Reims, France).
Midfielders: Christy Ucheibe (SC Benfica, Portugal), Esther Onyenezide (FC Robo Queens), Peace Efih (Sporting Club de Braga, Portugal), Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid FC, Spain), Deborah Abiodun (University of Pittsburgh, USA), Toni Payne (Sevilla FC, Spain), Jennifer Echegini (Florida State University, USA).
Forwards: Omorinsola Babajide (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain), Asisat Oshoala (FC Barcelona Feminine, Spain), Esther Okoronkwo (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain), Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville, USA), Gift Monday (Costa Adeje Tenerife Egatesa, Spain).

See also  U17 AFCON: Poor finishing cost Nigeria in defeat to Morocco
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *